VISTA Introductions: Anna

As we wrap up August and look to cooler weather, we can’t help but think on another event coming up shortly: the 10th anniversary of 9/11. Rockford is coming together as a community in many ways to remember this tragic event, and Goodwill is going to participate in the Day of Caring, planned for September 8, 2011.

United Way has created the Day of Caring, a community-wide effort that allows each one of us to put our hands together to create a better tomorrow. Various organizations have been asked to participate in this effort by creating volunteer opportunities that relate directly to their missions.

Goodwill is going to prepare and distribute employment kits to job-seekers without the means to obtain important items such as: USB drives, portfolios, pens, legal pads, and pocket resume tips. If you are interested in donating items for this project, or if you want to help out on September 8, please contact Anna at (815) 987-6202.

Anna also happens to be this week’s feature on the blog, conveniently enough. We’re slowly but surely introducing all the VISTAs at Goodwill, so kick your feet up and enjoy learning about Anna!

Where are you from?

I was born and raised in Rockford! I spent the better part of 2002-2008 living abroad, but I knew Rockford would always be my home! I have been back here full-time since spring of 2008.

What do you enjoy doing in your downtime?

There is so much to do in Rockford! I love the City Market and spending time downtown in the River District. Der Rathskeller is my favorite restaurant (that’s where my husband and I went on our first date and where he proposed). I also really enjoy the River Walk, cooking, and traveling.

Why did you choose VISTA and your project?

I chose VISTA because I want to have an impact on my community by making it strong and helping it to flourish for years to come. I am excited about the amazing projects the other VISTAs and I are working on, and how they are going to fill gaps we have in the Rockford area by ushering in positive resources and programs for the community.

Tell us about your project and its projected outcomes.

I am developing a transitional jobs program. The main goal of this program is to provide subsidized employment to people who are generally considered to be hard to employ. My program will teach them the skills they need to gain non-subsidized employment once they have completed the program.

What’s the biggest surprise since you started your project?

It amazes me how fast the time is going! It feels like I started yesterday and in reality, I am going on month five!

Share one tidbit about you that others might find interesting.

I have been to 27 countries, and though my best friend and travel buddy is Australian, I have never been to her homeland!

What are your plans after VISTA?

I plan on working on the non-profit sector for quite some time, though eventually you’ll see me as the head of the Rockford Park District, the Mayor, or maybe even in the Benson Stone Company commercials!

 

 

Leave a Reply

